Ize-Iyamu withdraws from Edo guber race


By Aluta News

Feb. 16, 2024

Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, one the All Progressives Congress (APC) aspirants for the Sept.21 governorship election has withdrawn, ahead of Saturday’s primaries.

Ize-Iyamu, said this at a news conference in Benin on Friday.

He said that his decision to quit was painful adding that he took the decision after due consultation with friends, family and political associates.

He, however, pledged to support any of the APC governorship candidates who would emerge in the Saturday’s primary

Ize-Iyamu commended President Bola Tinubu and the national leadership of the party for their fairness and commitment to democratic process.

“I entered the contest as a progressive democrat, with an open mind to keenly contest and accept the result of a process that is fair, credible and transparent.

” I appreciate the commendable effort made by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the APC

“To correct the erroneous impression maliciously created by certain persons that some aspirants including myself had been disqualified from the gubernatorial contest.

“The NWC constituted the authentic screening committee and all twelve aspirants who purchased and completed the nomination forms were successfully screened and subsequently issued clearance certificates,” he said.
He added: ” This step was praise worthy and helped in restoring our integrity in the eyes of the public.

“Having been cleared to contest, I regrettably wish to announce my withdrawal from the race.

“Although painful, this decision has become imperative after an exhaustive consultation with my family, friends, political associates and supporters.

“I make this sacrifice in the interest of the peace and unity that the party desperately requires at both state and national levels.”

” I humbly appeal to the good people of Edo State to accept my decision which is very personal and I promise to be there for them at all times.

“I acknowledge the fatherly role of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu GCFR, as well as the party’s National leadership for their fairness and commitment to the democratic process”.

Ize-Iyamu’s exit had left APC with 11 aspirants, ahead of Saturday’s primaries.

They included Dennis Idahosa, Clem Agba, Monday Okpebholo, Lucky Imasuen, Anamero Dekeri, Gideon Ikhine and Col. David Imuse, retired Major Gen. Charles Airhiavbere, Oserheimen Osunbor, Blessing Agbomhere, and Ernest Umakhihe.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x