CAF Awards: NPFL, Nigeria Pitch Awards bosses congratulate Osimhen, Oshoala


By Aluta News

Dec 12, 2023

The Chairman, Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL), Mr Gbenga Elegbeleye and President of Nigeria Pitch Awards, Mr Shina Phillips, have congratulated Victor Osimhen, Asisat Oshoala and Super Falcons for winning CAF football awards.

The duo congratulated the winners in separate interviews with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Tuesday in Lagos.

Elegbeleye said the win was for all Nigerians: “I am elated with the development which comes during the tenure of Mr Ibrahim Gusau as the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) president.

“I congratulate the all the winners for conquering Africa. Our winning at the CAF Awards is a good one and shows that we are not doing badly and we should be proud of these achievements, a big congratulations to Nigerians.

“This is coming at a time we are planning big for Nigerian football development, so it is a big congratulations to all of us in the ecosystem of football.”

Also, the president of Nigeria Pitch Awards, Phillips congratulated the winners adding that the win by Osimhen and Oshoala deservedly added to the intergrity of the Pitch Awards.

NAN reports that Osimhen is the current winners of Nigeria Pitch Awards in the ‘King of the Pitch’ category, while Oshoala also won in the women’s category together with the Super Falcons.

Reflecting on the win, Phillips said winning the the highest prize by Osimhen and Oshoala showed that the college of voters for the Pitch Awards was right with their choices.

“I congratulate the winners of the CAF Football Awards, Osimhen, Oshoala, Nnadozie and the Super Falcons, they are worthy winners.

“I must also commend the college of voters of the Nigeria Pitch Awards for being unbiased and bringing their expertise to the fore by voting the right candidates.

“The college of voters for Nigeria Pitch Awards has been exceptional and detribalised. There is no sentiment in the vote with Osimhen’s emergence as the King of the Pitch and Oshoala as Footballer of the Year in the Women’s category.

“The college of voters and the media have been upright in thier choices for the past 10 years which shows that the winners truly deserved to win,” he said.

Phillips charged the winners to reflect the performances that earned them the awards, and to reflect such in the national team.

“To whom much is given, much is expected, they should also make more impacts the development of football in Nigeria,” he said.

NAN reports that Nigeria dominated the podium on Monday at the CAF Football Awards gala night held at the Hotel Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Osimhen, Oshola, Nnadozie as well as Super Falcons were all winners in their respective categories.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x