Engineer Sule inaugurates committee on promotion, Salary arrears for civil servants


Engineer Abdullahi Sule

By Gambo Jagindi

January 13, 2020

Engineer Sule inaugurates committee on promotion, salary arrears for civil servants

Nasarawa State Governor, Engineer Abdullahi Sule has inaugurated an 11-man committee on the implementation of promotions and salary arrears for civil servants in the state.

Engineer Sule inaugurated the committee at a ceremony at the Government House on Monday.

The Governor said his administration is committed to resolve lingering promotions and to appropriately place workers for improved welfare and enhanced productivity.

According to the Engineer Sule, the committee’s mandate is to review issues regarding the implementation of promotions of civil servants and other related matters in Nasarawa State.

While noting that his administration is determined to provide more incentives as motivation for workers in the state, ensure adequate training for effective service delivery, the Governor expressed hope that the gesture will inspire workers to give their best in the implementation of government policies and programmes.

He disclosed that the committee is to be guided by 5 terms of reference to include, to ascertain/confirm whether or not there is salary arrears of workers in the State Public Service; ascertain/confirm the beneficiaries of the salary arrears and the total amount (if any); look into the promotions in the State Public Service up-to 2017 and review the placement of the beneficiaries and compute the total financial implication of the promotions following the proper placement of the beneficiaries.

The committee has three weeks within which to submits its report.

Earlier, in his opening remarks, Secretary to the Nasarawa State Government, Aliyu Tijjani, listed the members of the committee as follows:
Chief Philip Dada,
Hon. Commissioner,
Ministry of Works, Housing & Transport – Chairman

Haj. Zainab T. Ahmed,
Transfer, Retirement & Secondment,
Civil Service Commission – Member

Barr. Ishaku A. Usman,
Solicitor-General/Permanent Secretary,
Ministry of Justice – Member

Mr. Emmanuel M. Alidzi,
Permanent Secretary,
Ministry of Finance, Budget &
Economic Planning – Member

Rayyanu A. Lamus,
Nasarawa State Auditor-General – Member

Mr. David N. Ayele,
Special Adviser to the Governor on
Establishment and Labour Matters – Member

Federal Ministry of Labour and Employment,
Nasarawa State – Member

Representative of the
Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC),
Nasarawa State – Member

Representative of the
Trade Union Congress,
Nasarawa State – Member

Representative of the
Joint Public Service Negotiating Council,
Nasarawa State – Member

Ali Mohammed Ogye,
Director, Administration & Supplies,
Office of the Secretary to the Government of
Nasarawa State

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x