46 European countries adopt artificial intelligence treaty


May 17, 2024

“With this new treaty, we aim to ensure a responsible use of AI that respects human rights, the rule of law and democracy,” said the council’s Secretary-General Marija Pejčinović in a statement.

It said the Council of Europe Framework Convention on AI was the first binding international treaty on the technology.

“Though drafted under the umbrella of the Council of Europe, other countries can sign it.

“Among other things, signatories agree to create provisions in their national laws that ensure there is proper transparency, oversight and accountability in the use of AI systems.

“They also committed to ensuring AI systems don’t discriminate unfairly or violate people’s privacy,” said the statement.

Pejčinović said the convention was distinct from the European Union’s forthcoming AI Act, though the EU participated in drafting the new treaty.

“While the convention was a set of broad principles that signatories have to uphold in their own national laws.

“The AI Act is a specific and detailed regulation applicable in the 27 EU countries.

“EU ministers were expected to give their final approval to the AI Act on Tuesday,” he said.

The Council of Europe and the EU are entirely separate organisations, though all 27 EU member states are among the council’s 46 members.

11 states that are not council members participated in drafting the convention.

These countries are; Argentina, Australia, Canada, Costa Rica, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Peru, the United States, Uruguay, and the Vatican.


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x