National Youth Council of Nigeria expels 10 erring members, affirms Sukubo as President


By Aluta News


The National Youth Council of Nigeria rose from its emergency National Management Committee (NEC) meeting in Kaduna with far-reaching decisions including the expulsion of some erring members.

In the resolutions after the meeting held in Kaduna on February 4, 2024, those expelled were alleged to have violated provisions of the NYCN 2018 Constitution, as amended, especially Article 21.An unanimously vote of no confidence was passed on them.

They are Comrades Akoshile Mukhtar Adeola, Dotun Omoloye, Bashir Garba, Smart Uwakwe, Zaka Nehemiah, Izunna Agwuncha and Ibrahim Inuwa Dangata.

Others are Comrades Aminu Ubale Funtua, Blessing Onne Okwe and Clinton Avwoke.

Besides, the management also passed a vote of implicit confidence on the current leadership of the National Youth Council of Nigeria (NYCN) led by Ambassador Sukubo Sara-Igbe Sukubo as the President and other members of the National Executive Council (NEC).

They include Ambassador Innocent Nduanya, Comrades Kabiru Yusuf, Amosu Kazeem Oluwatomi, Otunba Eniola Tope, Innocent Ajayi, Bishop Douglas, Abubakar Suleiman Esq, Rikki Chinedu Nwajiofor, Nnamdi Ezemagu, Jimoh-Giwa Ayyub Akinola, Abdulrahman Olawale, Ghazali Ungogo, Olugbode Damola, Ukoh Michael and Irene Elon Mokwa.

It also adopted the change of leadership of the NYCN Chairmen’s forum as currently led by Comrade Abdulsalam Quadri Olusegun, the Chairman of Oyo State Chapter.

In the resolutions, the management affirmed as authentic some state chairmen NYCN in their various states.

They are: Comrade Okorie Kenneth, (Delta), Comrade Moses Agwinede Joseph, (Edo), Comrade Nwisabari Bani Samuel, (Rivers), Comrade Dan Obo Jnr, (Cross River), Comrade Kokoriko Ebikibina Raphael, (Bayelsa), Comrade Udeme Ubom Robert, (Akwa-Ibom), Comrade Prince Gara Soyonga Nongha, (Taraba), Comrade Halilu Isa,(Adamawa), Comrade Alamin Ibrahim Mohammad, (Gombe), Comrade Kaka Lawan Bundi,(Borno), Comrade Abdullahi Bukar Zanna,(Yobe), Comrade Emeji Godwin Sunday,(Ebonyi), Comrade Engr. Smith Sylvanus,(Abia), Comrade Barr. Udoka Ezinwanne Chimuanya, (Imo) and Comrade Bartholomew Ebuka Okoh, (Enugu).

Others are: Comrade Suv. Emeka Obi, (Anambra), Comrade Sulaimon Lekan Biliamin, (Lagos), Comrade Abdulsalam Quadri Olusegun, (Oyo), Comrade Ogunmolawa Matthew Adewale, (Ondo), Comrade Oyeniyi Mojeed Oladimeji, (Osun), Comrade Akolawole Shoremi, (Ogun), Comrade Famuyibo Oluwasegun, (Ekiti), Comrade Ango Abdullahi Suleiman, (FCT), Comrade Anne Suwa, (Plateau), Comrade Abdullahi Muh’d Ishaq, (Niger), Comrade Alli Nasiru Yusuf, (Kwara) and Comrade Usman Ogohi Samuel, (Kogi).

The rest are Comrade Okwori Onaji, (Benue), Comrade Bagudu Nathaniel Sheyin, (Kaduna), Comrade Awallu Inusa Muhammad, (Kano), Comrade Zanna Kaura, (Zamfara)Comrade Aliyu Yahaya, (Jigawa) and Comrade Shamdudeen Shamo, (Katsina).

Also, NYCN management approved the reports, having been ratified by the NEC, from the various Committees set up by the NEC to sort out lingering issues in some states.

According to the resolution, management reiterated the fact that the Council at any level, is constitutionally apolitical and non-partisan stating that no fund was given to it during the last general elections, by any political party.

It debunked the allegation that N369 million was given to the President of NYCN for the National Youth Council of Nigeria, during the last general elections.

Besides, the management approved the annual Thanksgiving of NYCN is to hold in Port Harcourt on 11 February, 2024 and approved the constitution and the inauguration of the Judicial Council, being the legal advisers from the state chapters.

On the Advisory Council, NYSC approved the appointment of five members from each Zone but in line with the provisions of the 2018 NYCN constitution, as amended, each Zone is to nominate only three members pending the review of that constitution.

The members of the judicial and advisory councils are to be inaugurated on the 12 February, 2024 in Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

Also, in the resolution, NEC reaffirmed that the award of the Grand Commander of the Nigerian Youth (GCNY) is constitutionally solely reserved for the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and as it stands today, the only GCNY is President Bola Tinubu.

According to the management that the award given to the former Governor of Kogi State, Alhaji Yahaya Bello as GCNY by some money-loving youth in the name of NYCN is fake and invalid.

It stated that the award of Doyen of Nigerian Youth on Alhaji Bello remains so.

NEC, according to the resolution passed a vote of confidence on the President Bola Tinubu, Governor of Kaduna State, Senator Uba Sani, Minister of Youth Development, Dr. Jamila Bio Ibrahim, Minister of State for Youth Development, Hon. Ayodele Olawande and SSA to President Tinubu on Youth Initiatives, Monitoring, and Delivery, Hon. Titilope Gbadamosi.

Recall in a world press conference, NYCN debunked and refuted the purported suspension of its President, Ambassador Sukubo.

According to the press text read by the National Deputy Secretary General of NYCN, Comrade Rikki Nwajiofor, Ambassador Sukubo remains the only President of the Council as any other self-acclaimed President, whether in acting capacity or not, is a desperate impostor and should be treated as such and disregarded.

Nwajiofor further stated that the NEC of NYCN has not suspended the Deputy President, Ambassador Innocent Nduanya, Secretary General, Abubakar Suleiman Esq and National Treasurer, Comrade Nnamdi Ezemagu and are still bonafide members of the NEC.

The NYCN, commended President Tinubu on his efforts towards tackling the insecurities that have bedevilled the nation and charged him to put in more efforts in ensuring that the lives of Nigerians are protected.

Nwajiofor stated that the apex youth body, under the leadership of Ambassador Sukubo, is saddened by the now daily kidnappings and gunmen attacks in most parts of the country, a situation that calls for urgent action to ensure the release of all those held in kidnappers’ dens in various parts of the country.